ARTERY 17 Award Winners

The Society was delighted to announce the winners of the ARTERY 2017 awards during the conference dinner held on 13 October 2017. Winners were presented as follows.

Young Investigator Award

This award was established in 2004 to encourage Young Investigators and recognise excellence in scientific contribution at the ARTERY Annual Scientific Meetings and are awarded to a Young Investigator judged from a group of finalists to have given the best oral presentation.

Awarded to: Andrea Guala (Barcelona)
“Invasive study for testing non-invasive methods of aortic pressure estimation”




Career Development Award

This award was established in 2006 to encourage graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, early career faculty, and early career professionals and recognise excellence in scientific contribution.  The award is judged from a group of finalists to have given the best oral presentation.

Awarded to: Bart Spronck (USA)
“Stiff vessels approached in a flexible way: Advancing quantification and interpretation of arterial stiffness”




Best Poster Award

ARTERY selects Best Posters each year from the posters that are presented at the Annual Scientific Conference.  These awards, which were established in 2007, recognize the scientific merit of poster presentations.

1st Prize – Frederic Roca (Rouen, France)
“Endothelial regulation of AWV is impaired during increase in blood flow in essential hypertension”

2nd Prize – Kristian Løkke Funck (Aarhus, Denmark)
“Arterial stiffness and progression of cerebral white matter lesions in asymptomatic patients with type 2 diabetes and matched controls: a 5-year cohort study”

3rd Prize – Anna Paini (Brescia, Italy)
“Effects of radiotherapy on large vessels in hodgkin lymphoma survivors”

ARTERY Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented on the recommendation of the ARTERY Executive Committee to a person to recognise their distinguished contributions in research, teaching or clinical activities relating to the field of arterial structure and function and successful mentorship of younger colleagues.

Posthumously awarded to: Professor Giuseppe Schillaci (Italy)



Best Paper Award

This award is chosen by Artery Research for the best paper submitted to the journal for the current year.

Awarded to: Evaggelia K Aissopou
Retinal vascular calibers in contemporary patients with chronic systemic inflammatory diseases: The Greek REtinal Microcirculation (GREM) study”